Main Menu

The Board of Directors consists of the following members:

Chair: Chris Richmond

1st Vice President: Annika Konrad

2nd Vice President: Steve Johnson

Secretary: Rhonda Staats

Treasurer: Kathleen Brockman

Additional Board Members:

Nurudeen (Deen) Amusa

Chelsea Dallin

John Foulks

Karen Heesen

Troy Hergert

Sharon Knauf

Tom Peralta

Nick Sinram

Dan Sippl

Kelsey Tiradani

Patty Zaller


Much of the business of the Council is conducted by committees. The Council is organized into the following committees:

Executive Committee

Manages the affairs of the Board of Directors between board meetings.

Members: Chris Richmond (chair), Annika Konrad (first vice president), Steve Johnson (second vice president), Rhonda Staats (secretary), Kathy Brockman (treasurer), and Denise Jess (staff)

Awards Committee

Recognizes the achievements of individuals who are blind or visually impaired and organizations, businesses and individuals who assist or make special accommodations available to those who are blind or visually impaired.

Members: Deen Amusa, Kathy Brockman, Steve Johnson, Sharon Knauf, Chris Richmond, Rosemary Goodrich (former board member), Richard Johnson (former board member), and Denise Jess (staff)

Finance Committee

Recommends policies that maintain and improve the financial health and integrity of the organization.

Members: Kathy Brockman (chair), John Foulks, Tom Peralta, Chris Richmond, Nick Sinram, Dan Sippl, Chris Doering (community member), Arnold Tucker (community member), Denise Jess (staff), and Sue Cowan (staff)

Fund Development Committee

Creates policies in conjunction with the strategic priorities approved by the board to ensure adequate and diversified philanthropic sources to support the organization.

Members: Chris Richmond (chair), Deen Amusa, Kathy Brockman, Nona Graves, Karen Heesen, Tom Peralta, Rhonda Staats, Tom Jeray (former board member), and Lori Werbeckes (staff)

Legislative Committee

Initiates and oversees the governmental advocacy and educational outreach focus and direction of the Council.

Members: Rhonda Staats (chair), Deen Amusa, Troy Hergert, Karen Heesen, Steve Johnson, Bruce Parkinson, Tom Peralta, Chris Richmond, Dan Sippl, Loretta Himmelsbach (community member), Richard Johnson (former board member), Gary Traynor (former board member), Boni Westover (community member), Patty Zallar (former board member), Michael Blumenfeld (legislative liaison, contracted), Denise Jess (staff), and Justin Lemke (staff)

Nominating Committee

Establishes consistent policies and procedures for board members including recruitment, selection, orientation, and termination of board members.

Members: Sharon Knauf, Bruce Parkinson, Chris Richmond, Rhonda Staats, Kelsey Tiradani, Chris Zenchenko (former board member), and Denise Jess (staff)

Personnel Committee

Recommends employed personnel policies, ensures salary ranges and benefits for staff are competitive, and oversees the performance review of the Executive Director.

Members: Chris Richmond, Steve Johnson, Rhonda Staats, and Denise Jess (staff)

Scholarship Committee

Supports the educational advancement of people with visual impairments through annual scholarship awards.

Members: Bruce Parkinson (chair), Chelsea Dallin, Karen Heesen, Sharon Knauf, Chris Richmond, Kelsey Tiradani, Loretta Himmelsbach (community member), Richard Johnson (former board member), Denise Jess (staff), and Ray Cubberly (staff)